April 2015: Ivy Hall Review Features Emme Raus

Emme Headshot (1)

Emme Raus enjoys writing realistic and historical fiction that gives readers a sense of hope. An outspoken young woman, she is also the co-copy editor for SCAD Connector and SCAN magazine and won first place for Best Column 2015 with Jen Schwartz at the Georgia College Scholastic Press Awards. She is a rising junior at SCAD and working towards a BFA in Writing with a minor in Creative Writing. Emme hopes to travel and pursue journalism by writing and editing for an arts and entertainment magazine as well as dabble in freelance work after graduation.

Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off on April 2015: Ivy Hall Review Features Emme Raus

February 2015: Ivy Hall Review Features Rebecca Arrowsmith

Arrowsmith.Headshot

Rebecca Arrowsmith is a student at the Savannah College of Art and Design in Atlanta. Her love for stories comes from dissecting movies, admiring musicals and turning pages. After dabbling in several creative subjects, only writing turned her into a fervent artist who’s running out of computer space and should probably write in notebooks anyway.

Continue reading

Posted in Featured Writer, Nonfiction | Comments Off on February 2015: Ivy Hall Review Features Rebecca Arrowsmith

January 2015: Ivy Hall Review Features Jared Steinberg

Featured Writer Headshot

Jared Steinberg (pen name I.J Steinberg) is a New England-born multimedia writer whose love of prose and poetry is matched only by his love for deep-dish pizza and Pokémon. Jared is a student of the beats and has read everything from Kerouac to Ginsberg. He hopes to follow in their footsteps and write full-length fiction novels about his generation. Right now though Jared hopes to make his parents proud and obtain his B.F.A. in Writing. 

Continue reading

Posted in Featured Writer, Nonfiction | Comments Off on January 2015: Ivy Hall Review Features Jared Steinberg

December 2014: Ivy Hall Review Features Shelley Danzy

After a 20-year broadcasting career, Shelley Danzy is pursuing her MFA in Writing at Savannah College of Art and Design in Atlanta. She has experience in business writing, copy writing and ghostwriting. Shelley is an admirer of inspirations, quotes, handwritten notes, indie bookstores, and quirky thrift store finds.

 

Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off on December 2014: Ivy Hall Review Features Shelley Danzy

November 2014: Ivy Hall Review Features Brittany Joyce

IMG_8057Believing in Tiny Bursts

I believe in human connection. Not the forced kind, not even the expected kind, but the kind that comes in tiny, random bursts. It doesn’t expect anything or even want anything back. It’s just there and then it’s gone. That’s the kind I believe in.

I was 18 when I moved to New York City. I knew three people – maybe 10 if you counted acquaintances and maybe 30 if you counted people that constantly came and went. It shouldn’t have been a surprise that New York was a lonely city, no matter how many people you knew or recognized or even wanted to know. Most of the time I hated that about it. Continue reading

Posted in Featured Writer, Nonfiction | Comments Off on November 2014: Ivy Hall Review Features Brittany Joyce

October 2014: Ivy Hall Review Features Jarrod Fouts

JarrodHeadshotHow to Skateboard

            You stare intently at the wooden plank with wheels bolted to it. It is wrapped in thin plastic that someone tried to scratch away. It also has a cardboard box over one of the sets of wheels to deter any rebels from trying to ride it in the store. You’ve seen them do it anyway.  You pick it up and turn it over in your hands. The plastic covering on the bottom makes the graphic shine in the light. The graphic is a cartoon skull engulfed in flames on a black background. To you, an 11 year old, it is the most awesome thing in the world.    There is a small white sticker on the skull’s forehead that reads “ALWAYS USE PROTECTIVE SAFETY GEAR, FAILURE TO DO SO CAN RESULT IN SERIOUS INJURY OR DEATH.” This is the epitome of badass. A wooden stick of death with a flaming skull on it. Only ten dollars? What a steal. Now it’s time to form a reason for why you need this. You could talk about athleticism. No, that wouldn’t work, you already ride bikes. Your mom could easily counter that with “It is too dangerous.” Then you will never know. Well there is one thing you can try.  You turn around and look at mom. She looks down at you. “Christopher got one and it looks fun, I want to try,” you say.  Try to throw in a slightly needy tone. Not too needy though, you don’t want it to sound forced. Continue reading

Posted in Featured Writer | Comments Off on October 2014: Ivy Hall Review Features Jarrod Fouts

September 2014: Ivy Hall Review Features Joanna Kauffmann

JK_1Gas Money

One summer we were given two gifts: a decent amount of money, and nothing else we had to do but spend it. Johnny would say we were given a third gift too, each other, but we’d been going out a year by then and he just likes to be poetic.

The money was because of an uncle of his, who assumed he would be dying soon and knew how impatient Johnny could be. “I’ll just write you a check,” the uncle said. “So you don’t have to worry about the lawyers.”

“Isn’t he afraid he’s going to a put a kineahora on it?” I asked when Johnny told me.

“No,” Johnny said. “He doesn’t believe in that kind of thing.” Continue reading

Posted in Featured Writer, Fiction | Comments Off on September 2014: Ivy Hall Review Features Joanna Kauffmann

June 2014: Ivy Hall Review Features Manseen Logan

ManseenThe Voodoo Bench

My sisters and I, along with my cousin Benealda, were marked the moment we moved into the Woodcroft Apartment complex. We were branded with a large red scarlet “A”. Our “A” did not represent the adulterous sins of Nathanial Hawthorne’s character. Our “A” stood for something much more foreign…Africa. In 1992, we migrated from our home state Providence, Rhode Island to Fall River, Massachusetts and now we were settling down in the south, Stone Mountain, Georgia.

I don’t remember exactly how the kids in our new neighborhood discovered that we were African. Maybe we told them. After all, we were first generation Americans who wore our Liberian heritage on our heads like crowns.

“Hi, what’s y’alls names?” they probably asked.

“Lemriel, Kia, Benealda, and Manseen,” we might have said.

“Oh. Where yall from?” they continued. We answered and the rest was history.

Continue reading

Posted in Featured Writer, Nonfiction | Comments Off on June 2014: Ivy Hall Review Features Manseen Logan